Working with Users and Groups

This topic describes the user and user group functionality within proCube Security Manager, which enables you to work with users and groups for the 9Dots applications in addition to a customized, stand-alone proCube database. This functionality includes the following:

  • Create new users/passwords

  • Read from the list of network users, similar to the add functionality within proCube, and add those users to proCube Security Manager

  • Modify and delete existing users

  • Create, modify and delete user groups

  • Add or remove users from groups

Default users and groups

There are two default groups: Administrator, Operational Administrator, and Everyone.

Administrator — highest level of access. You must be an Administrator to assign security using proCube Security Manager. To build functional areas, create users and groups, and write security rules, you log on to proCube Security Manager as an Administrator.

Operational Administrator — similar access rights to the Administrator except that this user can not restrict cube access. An Operational Administrator can not view data in restricted cubes unless given read access by the Administrator.

Everyone — All users added from proCube Security Manager are automatically assigned to the Everyone group. This group applies generic metadata read access for all cubes and all dimensions in the proCube database. Users are taken from the Everyone group pool and then reassigned to one or more groups where they receive their specific fact data security rights. If a user belongs to more than one group, that user will be assigned the highest level of security available from those groups.

Working with users

Users can be created, imported from the network, modified, or deleted.

Any time you work in proCube Security Manager, you will want to save your work and write it to the underlying proCube database. You do this by clicking Save directly after making your changes.

The following figure shows the available Users group ribbon commands you will use to add, edit, and delete users.

UsersGroupRibbonCommands.png

Figure 1.    Users Group Ribbon Commands

Defining or adding users

From the Define User dialog, you can define a new user or you can add access existing users from the network.

To define a user:

  1. From the Database ribbon, click Add User to open the Define User dialog.

DefineUserDialog.png

Figure 2.    Define User Dialog

  1. In the User Name: field, enter a unique name.

  2. [Optional] In the Description field, enter an explanatory text for that user.

  3. In the Password: field, enter a password of at least 8 alphanumeric characters (no spaces).

  4. In the Verify Password: field, re-enter the password.

  5. Click OK to create the user and dismiss the dialog.

To add users from the network:

Adding users from the network makes it easier to get those users into proCube Security Manager. However, your system must be enabled for this and you must have permission within the active directory to permit this type of search.

  1. From the Database ribbon, click Add User to open the Define User dialog.

  2. To the right of the User Name: field, click the User icon to open the Select User Dialog, which takes you outside of proCube into Windows. The Select User dialog and how you use it is described in your Window's documentation.

SelectUserDialog.png

Figure 3.    Select User Dialog

Find users based on the following search criteria:

  • Select this object type: — Enter the type of object or click Object Types... to select from a list.

  • From this location: — Enter the location or click Locations... to select from a pre-set list.

  • Enter the object name to select: enter a name. For a list of search clues, click the examples link. Click Check Names to confirm.

  • Click Advanced... to expand the Select User dialog and display additional search functionality.

  1. Click OK to read in users from the network.

Modifying/deleting users

Existing users can be edited or deleted. A user is edited by highlighting that user within the User View and then clicking the Edit User command (found in the User View or on the Database ribbon). Clicking Edit User opens the Define User Dialog complete with that user's info. Change as required and save your changes.

A user is deleted from the User View by highlighting that user and clicking Delete User (found in the User View or on the Database ribbon).

Deleting a user removes it from both the proCube Security Manager and the underlying proCube database.

Viewing groups and users

From the Database ribbon, click Users/Groups to open tabbed views of users and of groups. These tabs are located to the far right of the Functional Area. At the top of these Views are commands to help you work with users and groups. Click the downward pointing push pin at the top of either view to dock that view. Once a view is docked, the tabs to switch between the views are moved to the bottom of the docked view.

GroupView.png

UserView.png

Figure 4.    Group View (left) and Docked User View (right)

Working with groups

You can create, modify, delete groups and adding/removing users. The following figure shows the ribbon commands from Groups and Groups Members you will use to add, edit and delete groups, and add and delete group members.

GroupsandGroupsMembersRibbonCommands.png

Figure 5.    Groups and Groups Members Ribbon Commands

Defining or adding groups

The process for defining or adding a group is quite similar to the process for defining or adding a user. To create a new group, from the Database ribbon, click Add Group to open the Define Group dialog. Here you enter a group name and a description.

DefineGroupDialog.png

Figure 6.    Define Group Dialog

To retrieve network users, click the icon to the right of the Group Name: field to open the Select Group Dialog. From there, you can enter search criteria in much the same fashion as you enter criteria in the Select User Dialog. From the Select Group Dialog, click Advanced to open the Select Group Dialog's advanced search functionality, which works similar to that in Select User Dialog.

Modifying or deleting groups

Highlighting a group in the Group View and clicking Edit Group opens that groups information in the Define Group Dialog. You can make changes as needed. Highlighting a group in the Group View and clicking Delete Groupremoves that group from both the proCube Security Manager and the underlying proCube database.

GroupViewGroupsUsers.png

Figure 7.    Group View

Adding or removing group members

Once you have set up your users and your groups, you add users to groups where they become group members. From the Group View, highlight a group and click Add Member to open the Select Users dialog, which contains a list of the available users for that group. Select one or more users and click OK (green check) to enter them as group members.

To remove a group member from a group (but not delete that user from proCube Security Manager):

  1. From the Group View, expand a Group node.

  2. Highlight a group member, and then click Delete Group Member.

Reporting on user/group security levels

A report run from proCube Security Manager can be set up to show the security assignments for a particular user or group, their functional area, and their dimensions, cubes, and security rules. Go to Running reports for more information.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk