Applying Database Options

Applying Database Options

Through the Database Manager, you will define database settings for options such as Automatic Save, Backup, and Maintain transaction log.  The Database Manager is accessible only from the proCube server.

To open the Database Manager:

  1. From the proCube server, connect to a server and a database.

  2. From the Server View, highlight the connected database.

serverviewmenumanage.png

Figure 1.    Server View - Opening the Database Manager

  1. Right-click on that database and select Manage to open the Database Manager as a tab view.

databasemanagertab.png

Figure 2.    Database Manager Tab

For your Database Manager settings to take effect, you need to click Apply Now.

These and the other options—including Caching—are defined below.

Saving the database and creating backups

A database can be saved or backed up automatically. Use these settings to configure exactly how you want this to be done.

  • Automatically Save Databases Every: Select this option and then enter two values. The first field accepts a numerical value. The second field, a drop-down menu, lets you select minutes, hours, days or weeks. Enter a value in the first field and then select the value's unit. Default value = deselected.

  • Automatically Save Database at: Select this option to save the database at a specified time every day. Default value = deselected. By selecting this option, the third option becomes available.

  • Automatically Create Backup: If selected, the number of backup files you request in the Maintain field will be saved. When the number listed in the Maintain field is exceeded, the oldest backup will be deleted and a new backup created. Database files can be large and therefore the number of backup files indicated should not be excessive.

The Backup feature creates a database that can be restored in a single step—this is discussed in the under the topic, “Restore Database.” Unlike the main database file, the backup files are not kept open and therefore can be backed up easily to tape.

Backup files are located in a “Backup” folder created in the same folder where the original file exists. The format of the backup files is: filename + datetime + .bak. The datetime component of the name is the number of seconds elapsed since Jan 1, 1970. A backup file is actually an OLP file with a “.bak” extension. You can rename the file, replacing “.bak” with “.olp”, and open it using proCube. The following is an example of directory structure:

backupdirectorystructure.png

Figure 3.    Sample Backup Directory Structure

The following is an example of the contents of the Backup directory:

backupdirectorysamplecontents.png

Figure 4.    Sample Backup Directory Files

Allowing reserved characters

By selecting Allow Reserved Characters proCube can accept special characters (refer to Table 1.) in Metadata. By deselecting this option, proCube will NOT accept these characters in the Metadata. This is important when working with proCube Xchange, as you will not be able to build a cube if the source data contains any of these characters. By default, this option is selected.

Table 1.       Allow Reserved Characters

Character

Description

"

Double Quote

'

Single Quote

.

Period

,

Comma

;

Semi-colon

[ ]

Left and Right Brackets

{ }

Left and Right Braces

( )

Left and Right Parenthesis

Maintaining the transaction log

In the Database Manager, select Maintain transaction log to turn on the ability to create transaction logging for the specified database. By default this option is deselected.

The transaction log files capture all activity involving changes made to a given database. These files can be used to Restore or Undo changes made up to a given point in time. In addition, transaction log files can be use to create Transaction Log Reports. Go to Transaction Log Report for more information.

Caching

The sliding bar determines the size of the cache threshold. proCube stores aggregation and formula calculations in cache based on the amount of cache available. If the cache threshold is set to high, proCube will continue to store calculations in cache, hence decreasing the time to retrieve values. If you have a large amount of RAM on the server machine, you can move the bar to the right.

If the cache threshold is set to low, proCube will only store a minimal amount of information in cache, and recalculations will be retrieved from the data store. Move the bar to the left, therefore, to limit the amount of cache devoted to calculations—if you have less RAM, this may be the better choice. You will continue to see a calculation occur quickly, though not as fast as if it was retrieved from cache.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk