Managing the Server

Managing the Server

The proCube server runs on a Windows 2003 (or higher) server–based machine. Startups and shutdowns are handled via the Server Manager and database management is handled directly from the Server View.

Starting with Windows 2008, administrative functions are now more strict than they were under Windows 2003. To enable access to the proCube Server Manager, you will need to have administrator rights to proCube and then run proCube as an administrator.

To run proCube as an administrator:

  1. Click the Windows Start button to open the Start menu.

startprocuberunasadmin.png

Figure 1.    Run As Administrator

  1. Right-click the proCube icon and select Run as Administrator.

proCube Management Studio opens and you can then run the Server Manager.

Running the server manager

Form the Server Manager you can start and stop the server, inform or block users, and cancel calculations. Refer to proCube Server Shutdown Procedures for a detailed description of closing the proCube server.

To open the Server Manager:

  1. From the Windows Start button, select Programs and then select proCube. proCube Management Studio opens. The defined servers are displayed in the Server View.

serverviewmanageserver.png

Figure 2.    Server View - Manage Server

  1. Highlight a server and right-click to open a menu.

  1. Select Manage Server to open the Server Manager in a tabbed view.

servermanagertab.png

Figure 3.    Server Manager Tab

Starting or stopping the server

The proCube Server is started or stopped from the Server Manager. When proCube server is started, any databases that were open when the server was last stopped will automatically reopen. When proCube server is stopped, any open databases are automatically saved.

You can also start or stop the proCube server from Services.

  1. Open the Services window.

servicesdialog.png

Figure 4.    Windows Services

  1. If the Status shows Started, press Stop; press Start when Status indicates Stopped.

Monitoring and blocking users

From the Server Manager you can monitor the number and names of connected users to the proCube Server. You can also prevent users from connecting to the proCube server by using the Block Users option.

To block users from connecting to the server, select Block Users as shown in Server Manager Tab. This will prevent any new users from connecting to the server, but it will not disconnect any current users. This option can be useful when performing server or database maintenance, such as changing your metadata structure.

If Block Users is selected, a user attempting to log on to the server not be able to select a databases form the list within the Open Database Dialog.

Disconnecting users

To manually disconnect a user from the server:

  1. Select the username in the list of connected users.

  2. Click Disconnect User Session to immediately disconnect the selected user from the server.

Be careful with this function as it could result in the loss of data by users who are currently connected to the database.

Informing users

This option can be used when you wish to inform users that the server will be stopped. Informing a user does not automate a “Stop” of the server in the number of minutes specified—it is simply a way to broadcast a message to connected users. You need to press Stop to stop the server.

To send a broadcast message indicating when the server will be stopped:

  1. Enter the << minutes>> to indicate when the server will be stopped (e.g., 10).

  1. Click Inform Users, which also selects Block Users and bars new users from logging on to the database.. A message similar to the following opens on the server.

  1. Each listed user will receive a message that server will be stopped in the number of minutes indicated:

Clicking Inform Users also selects Block Users. Make sure you deselect Block Users to enable new users to log on to the database.

Cancelling calculations

Occasionally a user may begin a process that will take a considerable amount of time. Clicking Cancel Calculation halts all processing on the server. This useful if a user begins a process during peak time, when others users are most likely to be affected.

Clicking Cancel All Calculations stops all calculations.

Managing the server database

Functionality accessed from Server View lets you manage databases from the server. You can create, load, open, close, and save a database.

Creating a Database

Use the proCube Management Studio to create a database that will be shared by multiple clients:

  1. From the Server View, highlight a server, right-click and select New Database from the menu. This opens the New Database dialog.

serverviewnewdatabase.png

Figure 5.    Server View - New Database

  1. From the New Database dialog's Database Name field, enter a name for your new database.

newdatabasedialog.png

Figure 6.    New Database Dialog

  1. Click Browse to select a folder to locate the new database. This opens the Save As dialog - here you will enter a file name for the database and click Save to save the database file.

This same New Database dialog is also invoked from the proCube client when creating a new database.

The New Database options are as follows:

  • Selecting Secure Database requires users to enter a username and password to open that database. Security is configured through proCube by a user who is a member of the Administrator group. Go to Applying Database Security for more information.

  • Selecting Allow Reserved Characters lets you create a database that allows such characters as quotation marks, apostrophes, etc. Go to Allowing reserved characters to review a list of these allowed characters.

  1. Click OK in the New Database dialog to save the new “.olp” file. The database is now listed on the Server, where all connected clients may access it. For details, go toWorking with a Server Database from Workstations.

In addition to creating a database from the proCube server, you may also create a database on a standalone client machine, then make this database available to the server.

Loading a database

A database is loaded on the server before you can connect to it. This connection applies to both the server as well as the client.

To load a database on the server:

  1. From the Server View, highlight a server and right-click to open a menu.

  1. From that menu, select Load Database to open the Load Database dialog.

loaddatabsedialog.png

Figure 7.    Load Database Dialog

  1. Select a Server.

  2. User the browse button to set the path to the database .*OLP file.

  3. Click OK to load the database.

Opening a database

A database must be loaded on the server before it will appear in the Open Database dialog.

To open a database on the server:

  1. From the Server View, highlight a server and right-click to open a menu.

  1. From that menu, select Connect to Database to open the Open Database dialog.

opendatabaseacme.png

Figure 8.    Open Database Dialog

  1. In the list, select the database and click OK to open the database on the server.

Unloading and saving a database

Unloading a server database saves it and closes it. Saving a database saves any changes made.

  1. From the Server View, highlight a loaded database and right-click to open a menu.

  1. From that menu, select Unload or Save.

serverviewsaveunloaddatabase.png

Figure 9.    Server View - Unload/Save Database

When Unloading a database, clients currently connected will lose their connection to the database. When Saving a database, clients currently connected keep their database connection.

 


Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk