Security Backups and Output

This topic describes the security backups, report, and message output functionality in proCube Security Manager.

Security storage

proCube Security Manager reads the current security settings within the selected application database as the starting point for any modification. It stores the security settings in a storage repository, e.g., a file or a database. The repository has a structure that can be manually updated outside of the interface for edits and then reapplied to the application database as necessary. Each time proCube Security Manager writes security to the application, it writes the results to the storage repository for safe keeping using a date and time stamp. proCube Security Manager can restore (or apply) security settings from an existing file existing in an external repository.

Backing up and restoring security

Each time proCube Security Manager writes security to an application, it also writes that security to a repository for safe keeping. A time and date stamp are applied, which enables backups and restores to occur.

To back up security:

  1. From the Database ribbon, click Back up Security to open the Back up Security dialog.

  2. Enter a name or description for your backup.

  3. Click OK to open a dialog that shows progress while the backup takes place.

  4. Click OK again to complete the backup.

To restore a security backup:

  1. From the Database ribbon, click Restore Security to open the Restore Security dialog.

  2. Highlight the backup file and click the database icon to start the restore. The database will disconnect during the restore.

RestoreSecurityDialog.png

Figure 1.    Restore Security Dialog

Once the restore finishes, the database will need to be reconnected. The restore file remains available to be rerun. A restore file can be deleted by highlighting it and clicking the X.

Back up and Restore functionality also exists from the Server View. Highlight a connected database to display those commands.

Outputs

Output is generated in two formats: reports and system messages.

Running reports

To view security settings for one or more groups and their users, use the report command. The standard report contains:

  • user or group

  • security assignments

  • functional areas

  • dimensions

To run a report:

  1. From the Database ribbon, click Report to open the Reports dialog.

  2. Highlight users and/or groups to include in the report. Click an item to highlight and select it for inclusion. In combination with the mouse pointer, use the Ctrl key (to select multiple items one at a time) or the Shift key (to select multiple items with a range).

ReportsSelectionDialog.png

Figure 2.    Report Dialog - Select Users & Groups

  1. Click OK to run the report based on your selections. The report, based on the above selections displays in the Report dialog.

ReportDialog.png

Figure 3.    Report Dialog displaying reports

Using the Report dialog

The Report dialog displays the reports for the users and groups you have chosen. You can view the different reports by highlighting them within the navigator or by using the pagination controls in the toolbar. You can also access the same users and groups available from the Select Users/Groups for Reports dialog, albeit one at a time, by selecting them from the Select user drop-down menu just below the title bar.

A report contains the following information:

  • Users and groups — If the report displays for a user, you'll see the groups in which that user is a member. IF the report displays for a group, it will list the users in the group.

  • Meta security — Lists the names of the dimensions and cubes, the users/groups with access to those dimensions and cubes, and the allowed access levels.

  • Fact data rules — Lists the cubes and functional areas with security rules that affect this user/group.

The navigator displays the users and groups that you first selected. Expanding the report's nodes and highlighting the different items lets you scroll through the report.

The following table describes the toolbar commands.

Table 1.       Report dialog toolbar commands

Toolbar Command

Description

ReportShowHideNavigator.png

Show/Hide report navigator

ReportPaginationTools.png

Paginate through the report

ReportRefresh.png

Returns focus to the top level in the navigator

ReportPrint.png

Print report

ReportPrintLayout.png

Print Layout - Click to open the report in a print layout. Click again to close.

ReportPrintSetup.png

Page Setup - opens the Page Setup dialog where you can select paper size and source, set orientation (page or landscape), and scale the margins.

ReportSave.png

Export the report and save it in Excel or Acrobat formats.

ReportMagnification.png

Page magnification - select a level to enlarge or decrease the view size of the report.

ReportSearch.png

Search - enter a search string and click Find. The string gets highlighted within the report - click Next to find subsequent instances.

Using the Output Log

System messages, such as information, warnings, or errors that occur during the writing of security rules, are written to the Output Log. Select Output Log on the Home ribbon to enable its display. The actual Output Log is located in the main interface's lower, left-hand corner.

OutputLogOpen.png

Figure 4.    Output Log

Temporarily display the log's contents by positioning the mouse pointer on the tab. Or you can permanently open it by clicking the push pin. To close the log, click the push pin once more.

A filter, available from the pull-down menu just below the title bar, lets you display all, none, or only certain types of system messages. You can set this filter to:

  • All — displays all messages

  • Off — turns off message reporting

  • Fatal  — only critical exceptions are logged

  • Error — all exceptions are logged

  • Warn — all exceptions and all warnings are logged

  • Info — all options and information messages are logged

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk