Restoring/Undoing Operations

Restoring/Undoing Operations

There are several options for restoring the Metadata and Fact Data to a saved database and an option to undo Fact Data changes. Assuming Transaction Log is enabled, you can:

  • Restore metadata changes from the database save to a specified time

  • Restore fact data changes from a specified time (to the present moment)

  • Undo fact data changes from a specified time

If the Backup option was enabled, you can restore both metadata and fact data from the point of the database save to the present moment in a single step (Restore Database, From Backup menu selection). If both the Transaction Log and Backup options were enabled, you can do any of the above.

In order to restore or undo fact data changes, users do not need to be disconnected—i.e., the Restore/Undo operation can be done while users are online. This applies to fact data only—users need to be offline when you restore metadata.

The commands to run these operations is available from the Server View's Restore Database submenu.

serverviewrestoredatabasesubmenu.png

Figure 1.    Server View's Restore Database Submenu

All Restore/Undo operations are predicated on the fact that you have a saved Database—which will be the case if you have enabled the Maintain Backup option. Whether or not you use the Maintain Backup option, we recommend that you do daily external backup of your OLP files. If you back up your OLP files while they are open on the Server, your backup software must be able to back up open files.

Before restoring the metadata or fact data from the transaction log:

  1. Restore a clean proCube database from your hard drive or tape backup.

  2. Open the database from the server.

  3. Select the database from the Server View.

Restoring metadata

Metadata are objects such as Dimensions (including Members and Hierarchies), Cubes (including Formulas) and Slices.

When restoring from the transaction log, you should restore metadata first. This allows new metadata to be added to the database before you restore any fact data. If no metadata has been modified, you can proceed directly to restoring your fact data.

To restore metadata:

  1. From the Server View, highlight an active database.

  2. Right-click to open the menu. Expand the Restore Database's submenu and select Meta Data... to open the Restore Metadata dialog. Dimensions is the default Metadata object selection.

restoremetadatadialog.png

Figure 2.    Restore Metadata Dialog

  1. Select the Dimensions to restore.

  2. From the Metadata drop down, select Cubes and then select the Cubes to be restored.

restoremetadatadialogdropdown.png

Figure 3.    Restore Metadata Dialog - Drop-down

  1. From the Metadata drop down, select Slices and then select the Slices to be restored.

  2. In the Rebuild To text box, enter the date and time up to which you wish to restore the metadata.

The default time is the present moment that you access the Restore Database dialog. Thus, if you keep the default you will be restoring all metadata changes that have occurred since the Maintain the transaction log option was checked.

  1. Click OK in the Restore Metadata dialog. The following prompt appears:

restoremetadataprompt.png

Figure 4.    Restore Metadata Prompt

  1. Click Yes to restore metadata.

  2. When the metadata restore has been completed, you are prompted to save the database. This will execute a database save, committing the changes from memory to disk.

restoremetadatadatabasesave.png

Figure 5.    Save Restore Metadata to Database Prompt

  1. Click Yes.

Restoring or undoing fact data changes

You can either restore or undo Fact Data changes from the transaction log—and you have the option of selecting users whose data changes you want to restore or undo.

  1. From the Server View, highlight an active database.

  2. Right-click to open the menu. Expand the Restore Database's submenu and select Fact Data... to open the Restore Fact Data dialog. A list of Cubes that have been changed and users that have made changes will appear. By default all Cubes and users are selected.

restorefactdatadialog.png

Figure 6.    Restore Fact Data Dialog

The radio buttons indicate whether you want to Restore Values or Undo Changes made to fact data. It is important that you consider the From time text box. The From field displays the at which you started the Restore Database dialog. If you restore or undo fact data changes from the present moment forward, there will be no effect whatsoever on fact data values. Therefore, enter the correct time—in the exact format required (see below)—from which you want to restore or undo fact data changes. For example, you may want to enter the time stamp of the last “best” copy of the database. Fact data changes will be restored or undone from that moment forward.

The format for the entry in the From: field must be:

MM/DD/YY_hh/mm/ss_[AM or PM]

  1. Make selections of cubes and users.

  2. Select either Restore Values or Undo Changes.

  3. In the From: filed, enter the time in the proper format.

  4. Click OK. If you are restoring values, this prompt opens.

restorefactdatavaluesprompt.png

Figure 7.    Restore Fact Data Values Prompt

If you are undoing changes, this prompt opens.

undofactdatachangesprompt.png

Figure 8.    Undo Fact Data Changes Prompt

  1. Click Yes to restore or undo fact data changes.

  2. When the fact data restore or undo has been completed, a prompt opens concerning saving to the database.

restoreundofactdatachangesprompt.png

Figure 9.    Restore or Undo Fact Data Changes - Commit to Database Prompt

  1. Click Yes to execute a database save and commit your restore or undo changes.

Restoring a database from backup

The Restore Database from Backup command allows you to automatically perform a database restore in a single step. The backup file (*.BAK) you select will replace the current database that is opened.

These conditions must be met prior to restoring a database from a backup:

  • The Automatically Create Backup option must have been selected.

  • Transaction Logging must have been enabled for the database. If the transaction logging was not previously enabled, the backup file will be a replication of the *.BAK file of the database as it existed at the time of the backup.

  • All users must be logged off prior to running this command.

To restore a database from a backup:

  1. From the Server View, highlight an active database.

  2. Right-click to open the menu. Expand the Restore Database's submenu and select From Backup... to open the Restore Backup dialog that contains a list of all backup files that exist in the database directory. These files are identified by the date and time they were created.

restorebackupdialog.png

Figure 10.           Restore Backup Dialog

  1. Select a backup file date and click OK. All fact data and metadata objects that were changed from the time of the backup will be restored to the database.

 


Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk